top of page
  • Adrianne Taylor

All the HEALTHY Treats

Updated: Jan 14, 2022

My boys say they can immediately tell the difference when I've made something with a healthier option. I guess I'll give it to them that some of the things you can, but not all of them! I've been trying to use recipes that don't call for white sugar, and that's all my boys want to eat. I don't know if it's my body adjusting to less sugar or what, but I think these are just as tasty...and of course with half the guilt! I mean, if I'm eating ten of them, probably not making a difference in my health 😂, but they're so good!


I want to lose weight of course, but I want to FEEL good more than that. Yes I'd rather the scale go down, but if it doesn't, as least I'll feel good about myself (most days.) The more sugar I eat, the worse I feel. BUT, if I'm just going to limit myself on everything, what's the point? I'll end up giving up anyway.


So if you're on a journey to better health and more energy like me, but your kids aren't quite ready to follow yet, these are for you! Quick. Simple. Healthy. Ok, so maybe not healthy like a vegetable would be, but you get what I'm saying.


(My Version) BUCKEYE BALLS

Last year I had made these using a different version that called for flour in this recipe (coconut maybe? I can't remember.) They were too grainy feeling for my taste, so this yer I tried to find the perfect blend of sweet and creamy and these are perfect. One of my boys accidentally (😂) tried one of "mine" instead of the sugar-filled ones, and he said they weren't "that bad" (Oh brother.)


These require no baking and you may want to double the recipe just in case. I try to stick to one a day to make them last all season. I store them in the freezer. I don't know why, that's just where I keep them. 🤷‍♀️


Ingredients:

1 C peanut butter

1 scoop protein powder (I used plexus brand)

1/4 C honey (read the label and make sure there's no extra sugar added)

2 tsp vanilla extract


For Chocolate Coating:

1/2 bag dark chocolate chips (I had a bag of 85% cacao chips)...you can add more if needed

1 T olive oil (I use this instead of shortening now)


Instructions:

- Combine the first 4 ingredients; peanut butter, protein powder, honey and vanilla.

- Mix in a food processor or blender, until combined and looks like soft dough (You can add more powder or protein depending on the consistency you desire)

- Form balls (I like to make them on the smaller side so I'm not having too much if I'm eating one a day. My boys make them huge and that's just too much sweetness!

- Arrange balls in a single layer on a foil-lined cookie sheet

- Freeze balls for 30 minutes (or if you're like me and busy, you can make this part of the recipe now and do the chocolate dipping part tomorrow!


Chocolate Coating:

- I do this first step on the stovetop, but it can be done in the microwave too (microwave in 30-second intervals, stirring in between each, until chocolate and olive oil are completely melted

- If using stovetop, fill a large pan1/4 with water and place a pot in the water (like a homemade double-broiler)

- Bring water to boil as you melt the chocolate and olive oil, stirring constantly as it starts to melt. You do not want burnt chocolate...trust me.

- Remove peanut butter balls from the freezer and using a toothpick (or tongs if you can't find your toothpicks like SOME people)...dip each ball in the melted chocolate, coating

- Place each chocolate coated ball back on the cookie sheet - removing toothpick

- Place tray back in the freezer for at least an hour

- Keep stored in the fridge or freezer in a gallon baggie or container



FROZEN CHOCOLATE - COVERED BANANAS:

Ok, so this recipe may seem weird, but bear with me for a second! This is the simplest thing you'll make all year and yet, it'll be an awesome sweet treat just when you need it.


Ingredients:

Bananas

Dark Chocolate

Almond Butter (if desired)


Instructions:

- Grab a baking pan or cookie sheet (one that can be put in the freezer)

- Slice up a banana (or two) and put in a single layer on the pan

- Melt (in the microwave) or the stovetop...the dark chocolate and almond butter if you choose

- Once melted, pour over each slice of the banana

- Place pan in the freezer until chocolate is firm

- Keep chocolate bananas in an airtight container and eat one at a time when a craving hits!


ALMOND CHOCOLATE FREEZER FUDGE

I follow an amazing woman called "the Food Babe" and this was part of a recipe she had shared. I tweaked a few things to make it my own, but the concept is still the same. I have a batch in the freezer as I type! Plus, I'm seeing a huge trend in my Christmas treats...chocolate. I need to go look for some non-chocolate recipes...


Ingredients:

1 C almond butter

4 T coconut oil

1 1/2 tsp maple syrup (make sure you look at the ingredients)

4 ounces dark chocolate (Or more if you want haha)

1/2 tsp sea salt

Crushed walnuts (if desired)


Instructions:

- I melted the almond butter, coconut oil, maple syrup, and dark chocolate in a pan on the stove

- While those were melting, I lined a rectangle baking pan with foil (or parchment paper)

- Pour melted mixture into the pan

- Top with walnuts

- Put pan in the freezer until firm (about 2 hours)

- Cut into 1 inch squares and store in the freezer in an airtight container



Gluten Free Pumpkin Protein Bread

I'm going to be honest...all the recipes I've found that have eliminated processed foods, are recipes I've found from others who have played around with the healthy recipes before me. So make sure you are following people who are where you would like to be...never with guilt hanging over you, but for ideas. I love when others share their healthy recipes, which is why I am excited to share some with you!

The following recipe is from someone I found on instagram, Angie Lee. She made it in a lot pan for bread, but my family doesn't seem to eat bread, so I make them into muffin size or mini muffin size. When they are set out on the counter in bite size form, they get eaten up!


Ingredients:

1 C canned pumpkin

1/2 C coconut oil - melted

2 very ripe bananas

1/3 C nut butter (any of your favorites is fine...watch for added sugars!)

1/3 C coconut sugar (or honey to sweeten)

Few scoops vanilla or chocolate protein powder (watch the added sugar!)

2 eggs lightly beaten

1/4 C almond flour

1/4 C coconut flour (or oat flour works too)

Dash of baking powder

Dash of baking soda

Dash of salt

Buttload of cinnamon and chocolate chips (I used dark chips)


Directions:

- Mix everything together in a large bowl. It's that simple. No using 10 bowls and 10 steps. Grab all your ingredients, throw em in a bowl, mix up and there you go!

- If you're using in a bread form, Bake at 350 for 45 minutes

- If you're using muffin tins, Bake at 350 for 12 minutes

I recommend eating hot and fresh out of the oven where the chocolate chips melt all over your hand. SO good!!



Hulk Muffins (or Christmas muffins)

I also found this recipe from someone online...her name is Brittany Williams (Or Instantloss online) and she has SO many amazing recipes! The following recipe ends up being green, hence the name Hulk or I call them Christmas muffins too. My boys have no idea what turns them green, so the name makes them so excited to eat them! Make sure you make them with no one around though, if they're picky. 🤷‍♀️


Ingredients:

1 very ripe large banana (or cored and cut up apple)

1/4 C raw honey or 3-5 pitted dates

2 large eggs

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 to 2 large handfuls of spinach

1 C steel cut oats

1/2 tsp baking soda

Toppings of your choice...granola, dried fruit, dark chocolate chips, etc


Directions:

- Preheat oven to 350 and grease mini muffin pan with oil or butter and set aside

- In order listed, place all ingredients into a high powered blender (I use the Nutri-Bullet) about 45 seconds

- I add my dark chocolate chips right into the batter. Sometimes I blend them in the blender, or just stir them in

- Fill mini muffin tins about 3/4's full and sprinkle additional toppings if desired

- Bake for 12 minutes

I actually (as does the author) make a double or triple batch and freeze a bunch for a later time.







4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What is Resurgent Masculinity?

You may have seen my posts and stories on social media about our new study for moms to do alongside their sons, and be wondering what this is all about. What is it? Why do it? What exactly is involve

When You Speak Life, it's Life You Will Find

We've all heard the phrases - the terrible two's, threenagers, "oh boy they're a teenager with an attitude now", and how teenagers are know-it-all's. We've joked about it. A lot of us have experienced

Praying For Your Son

💙 Explore a Topic. Read verses. Pray them over your son. 💙 Not every day is perfect. Not every picture is perfect. You are not perfect. Your son is not perfect. The only perfection we can find is fo

bottom of page